Opening Night

Premiere of symphonic pieces from international composers by the Strasbourg philharmonic Orchestra and international soloists.

Conducted by Marko Letonja

More information


Zhou LONG (1953, China)

Temple bugler, Concerto for soprano saxophone and orchestra**

Kenneth Tse (USA) – soprano saxophone

Guillaume CONNESSON (1970, France)

Concerto tribute to John Coltrane**

Joonatan Rautiola (Finland) – soprano saxophone

Jean-Yves Fourmeau (France) – alto saxophone

Nicolas Prost (France) – soprano saxophone

Andrei ESPHAI (1925, Russia)

Concerto for soprano saxophone and orchestra*

Henriette Jensen (Denmark) – soprano saxophone

Duration: 14 min

Barbara THOMPSON (1967, United Kingdom)

Concerto for soprano, alto and tenor sax**

Rob Buckland (UK) – soprano saxophone

Francesco Cafiso (France) – alto saxophone

Michael Alizon (France) – tenor saxophone

Philippe GEISS (1961, France)

Sax Heroes, Fantaisie for saxophone quartet and orchestra*

Timothy Mc Allister (USA) – soprano saxophoneVincent David (France) – alto saxophone

Philippe Geiss (France) – tenor saxophone

Arno Bornkamp (Holland) – baritone saxophone

* French premiere / ** World premiere